Modern Ghana Starts Here

So with all the work I have been doing I have fallen way behind on my blog post. I’m back in school for a Masters in Public Health and even though I am in two classes at the moment they are very time consuming. On top of that they are eight weeks long and so much information is jammed into one week. The blogging 201 course here on wordpress has been really eye opening for me. There are so many things I can do to make your reading experience feel that more exciting……

With that said let me get to something that has my full attention. I represent modern Ghana….modern Ghana starts here……

While looking though my daily reader I was excited to find a great blog titled “My African City-My Ghanaian Friend”. This particular blog entry by @diasporannewbie was also a guest post from her friend who recently arrived back from her trip to Ghana.

Sorry, I need a sidebar. If you don’t already know, my parents are from Ghana. I was born in London and I currently live in the states. I have been in and out of Ghana since I was an infant so it is definitely another home for me. In fact I was just in Ghana not too long ago. I arrived back in the states in late September. So now that you have my background story I can get back to the story at hand…..

Lately I have been coming across so many discussions revolving around the culture, economy, or simply put the way modern day Ghanaians view themselves. So you could only imagine my excitement when I read “My African City- My Ghanaian Friend”. Not only did I think this post was great but the cherry on top was the fact that Nicole Amarteifio’s  YouTube web series “An African City” is amazing!! There were so many things that the ladies talked about or experienced that I could relate to. Yes, I know there are probably some people who might disagree with me but I am excited because this group of women represent a different social group for African women in general (people I can relate to).

I think its important to get as many view points as possible when this discussion of modern Ghana appears. Many people are so use to the down trodden, poverty stricken views that sometimes the very indication that I am African in any way is like a joke or a lie. I get very exited when I can express myself and culture in a way that people don’t feel put off by it. To me modern Ghana screams opportunity and if you are willing to work hard in order to achieve something more anything is in your grasp. My efforts to build a non profit organisation in Ghana grew out of the love I have for my people and country. I think it is important for me to be a strong 28yr old woman in the world we live in. What makes things even more amazing is that I can say I am adding to the positive look and feel of modern Ghana, culture included. I’m not opposed to pounding Fufu and catching my Trotro. However, on the flip side, I’m not opposed to having a night out with friends, and arriving at a sophisticated party in a tailored Woodin fabric dress. I may not have been born in Ghana but my understanding of the Ga dialect is excellent and I don’t feel a sense of detachment from the country at all. Although these things sound amazing to me I feel that I didn’t just get these things by asking for hand outs or feeling sorry for myself I got them because I put in hard work. I got them because I was raised a certain way that stressed the importance of effort, work and culture. I think that is the message of modern Ghana. I feel that this new generation is one that is willing to fight hard and work hard regardless if the rules are stacked against us, we are passionate and we are driven. Modern Ghana, starts exactly right here!!!

Like always if you care to donate anything to my campaign please do so here

7 thoughts on “Modern Ghana Starts Here

  1. Thank you Ninja Princess!! I’m glad you could relate to my message of old world and new world movements working together to form something productive for everyone. Much love back to you luv xoxo

    Like

  2. Sounds like you have a big workload. You can do it! I actually have a friend that goes to Ghana all the time, at least once a year. I think it’s wonderful that you are building a non-profit, It’s something I’ve wanted to do for years myself. The changes you are making with your own culture are very admirable. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do have a pretty big work load but the truth is I don’t know where I would be without it, hahah. Thanks for the support! If someone told me three years ago I would be set up a non profit organisation I don’t think I would have believed them. What sort of non profit would you like to start?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well I’ve been inspired by a couple that I know who started their own non-profit called Aid Mayanmar. I would love to do something like this, help children and animals. I want to base my writing around conservation and volunteering and see what people think. Get views from both sides good and bad. I just want to spread the message to people that we can do so much more!

        Liked by 1 person

      • If you can find a way to combine children and animals to form a non profit that would be so unique. I’m always happy to see other people pushing for a better world. Its very refreshing, because we as humans can absolutely do so much more.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

